This book review site was started by Megan Andersen, the library media specialist at Dowling Catholic High School in West Des Moines, IA.  Megan Andersen has her B.A. in Secondary English Education from Iowa State University and her M.A. in Library Science, specializing in school media, from the University of Iowa. 

For those of you wondering what RAC is…Dowling Catholic has a program called Reading Across the Curriculum or RAC where students must choose a book from a select list, read, and conference the book with a teacher once a quarter.   

35 Responses to “About”


  1. 1 Laura Bingham May 18, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I have a new young adult book that has just been released. I am interested in having you review my book. Let me know if you are interested in receiving a copy.

    Putting a twist on the modern day world, Älvor takes a fifteen year old girl and her twin brother and transforms them. They experience incredible speed and strength and are given the choice of immortality. Magic and mythical creatures lure them into choosing an immortal existence where they will never age.
    But immortality and superhuman speed does not replace the need to know who you are. When Erin finds herself abandoned by her twin, she is forced to decide who she is and what matters most.

  2. 3 Jeannette Katzir March 19, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    How and to whom do I send an advance copy of a Young Adult fiction I have written?
    Jeannette

  3. 5 Etta King April 10, 2011 at 2:37 am

    Hi!

    I was wondering if you (or your team) would be open to reviewing a soon-to-be-released young adult novel. I would truly appreciate a review from you. Here’s a look at the description:

    They say these are the best years of your life. That you can never get them back. Well with tempting teaching fellows, b****-tastic roommates and secret societies, you might just want to survive. Enter Caspian University where school work is the least of your worries and you better hope you’re not the collateral damage.

    In their first semester at CU, follow Beth and Judith, the made-in-hell roomie combo, as they navigate boys, school, v-cards and crazy – sometimes evil – friends. One semester: oh-so-much fun. And the best part is: it’s only just begun.

    Cheers! And GL!

    Please let me know if you would like to receive a copy for review.

    Thanks!

    Etta King

    • 6 manderse11 September 1, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      If you send me a copy I will review it.

      Dowling Catholic High School
      Attn: Megan Andersen
      1400 Buffalo Road
      West Des Moines, IA 50265

  4. 7 David Stokes August 11, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Hello, Ms. Andersen,

    I apologize if I’ve missed your usual process of submission. I couldn’t find an option on your blog.

    Earlier this year, we released Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula, the first book in the superhero-themed series, Cassidy Jones Adventures. Cassidy Jones is an average fourteen-year-old girl whose senses, strength, and speed are radically enhanced after a minor accident in the laboratory of a geneticist. The target audience are girls ranging from ages 12-16, but as you will note on Goodreads, Facebook, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, Cassidy Jones has tremendous crossover appeal. Reader response has been excellent. Please view on links below.

    The next book in the series, Cassidy Jones and Vulcan’s Gift, will be released this fall.

    Thank you for considering reviewing our title. We look forward to your response.

    Best regards,
    David Stokes

    Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10182347-cassidy-jones-and-the-secret-formula

    Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/Cassidy.Jones.Adventures

    Amazon:http://tinyurl.com/3c4y4xl

    Barnes&Noble:http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/cassidy-jones-and-the-secret-formula

    Book reviewer,Gail Welborn:http://tinyurl.com/3owc2mf

    • 8 manderse11 September 1, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      I would be happy to review your title if you send me a copy.

      Dowling Catholic High School
      Attn: Megan Andersen
      1400 Buffalo Road
      West Des Moines, IA 50265

  5. 9 Anonymous August 15, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    How do we submit a book for review? We are publishing first YA in a series –the first entiteld Molly O’Brien and the Mark of the Dragonslayer by Kathleen Damiani. See below

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Amy Opperman Cash
    amy@larsonpublications.com

    Molly O’Brien and the Mark
    of the Dragon Slayer

    by Kathleen Damiani

    Larson Publications / November 2011
    Distributed by National Book Network

    The first in a series . . .

    Where’s the new life for YA fiction that can fill the Harry Potter gap? With vampires and werewolves and zombies, and even funny zombies, still larger than they may appear in the rearview mirror, will the next “big thing” have to be even darker and more violent? Kathleen Damiani doesn’t think so . . .
    Molly O’Brien is a new kind of YA heroine—who learns the power of Woman to disrupt the sinister momentum of dark energies and nurture ones that serve what’s precious in life. We first meet her briefly at age eight, when she “just can’t take it anymore” and is about to do something perilous. An inexplicable encounter with a strange creature in a tree changes her perspective, leaving a fresh “mark of the dragon slayer” on her wounded thigh that destines her for high adventure (and at least five more books).
    The story resumes when Molly is fourteen, shortly before the Cuban Missile Crisis. Sophia, the strange and beautiful “woman” with a long tail and hooved feet reappears after a long absence, eager for Molly to join her on a dangerous mission in the realm between the worlds—where the circumstances of earth life as we know it are formed. Together they embark on a series of adventures designed to prepare Molly for her true destiny—battling the Great Dragon that encircles our planet as the crystallized thought-forms of humanity’s past, now controlled by the demon Ialdaboath.
    Their first battle with Ialdaboath is successful, easing the tension of the Missile Crisis enough for Kennedy and Krushchev to make a deal. Molly’s middle-realm initiations continue from there in a variety of adventures—ranging from a romantic interest in the disciplined assistant to a powerful sage, to uplifting visions in the Women’s Temple and the Hall of Philosophy, to a life-and-death struggle with Mephistopheles who tricks Molly into a drop of blood “signature” in his Book of Magic . . . and long periods of subsequent exile back to earth.
    Molly is a healthy, inquisitive young woman who ultimately learns to navigate and balance her magical and mundane realities, and find the core strength her destiny requires. Various beings from biblical, alchemical, and esoteric tradition, as well as allegorical fiction figure into her training. Sophia emerges under a variety of names as the deep feminine nature that can guide women (and men willing to learn) to their own soul powers and the wisdom of how to engage them in service to life’s higher possibilities.

    “Beyond the world we know is another realm. Kathleen Damiani unfolds the mysterious wisdom of Sophia with joyful exploration.” –Caitlín Matthews, author, Sophia, Goddess of Wisdom

    Kathleen Damiani, PhD, has been researching, writing, and speaking about Sophia since 1985. She completed interdisciplinary graduate programs at Old Dominion University and Union Institute and University, earning her PhD in 1998. Her talks and writings on Sophia, the dragon, and alchemical and Gnostic themes are at sophiaandthedragon.com. This is her first adventure with fiction.

    Molly O’Brien and the Mark of the Dragon Slayer
    by Kathleen Damiani
    Teen fantasy/fiction
    6 x 9, 272 pages, paperback, $15.95
    Publication date: November 20, 2011
    Larson Publications / Distributed by National Book Network

    • 10 manderse11 August 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      Send any books for review to:

      Dowling Catholic High School
      Attn: Megan Andersen
      1400 Buffalo Road
      West Des Moines, IA 50265

  6. 11 Melinda James August 21, 2011 at 2:37 am

    Do you accept pdf’s or epub format?

  7. 13 Wendy R Williams August 21, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Hi,

    I have a book, The Big Apple Posse, for your consideration.

    Just in time for the tenth anniversary of 9/11, The Big Apple Posse tells the story of four amazing tweens who were trapped in New York City after a terrorist attack. Pooling their skills (computer, physical and common sense), they figure out what happened to the city and escape. In the spirit of The Wizard of Oz, they become a band of travelers (The Big Apple Posse) adding new friends as they make their journey.

    Twelve-year-old Amanda was dreading a boring afternoon at a Broadway theater, babysitting her geeky ten-year-old brother Peter and watching her obnoxious cousin Cindy perform the lead role in Annie. After the show, as they wait for their mothers in Cindy’s basement dressing room, something unimanageable happens—the theater, and perhaps the entire city, explodes above them! Armed with netbooks and backpacks, the terrified but determined tweens manage to escape through an old door in the men’s room and climb down a Prohibition-era stairway to the subway.

    When they emerge, they are stunned to find an empty city where the streets are choked with abandoned cars and plagued by looters running wild. With Amanda leading the pack, the group dodges thieves and thugs, making their way to Grand Central, where there has been an explosion of white powder. What really happened? Is it a terrorist attack? Or just a bunch of crooks trying to scare the public as they loot the city?

    Determined to solve the mystery and reunite with their families, the tween posse quickly expands, adding some quirky characters they meet along their way: Mr. Garvain, a true New York eccentric; his sister Miss Virginia, proprietress of an outlandish costume wardrobe; Thibodeaux, a twelve-year-old New Orleans boy turned New York City rapper and clothing designer; and Auntie Tina, Thibodeaux’s no-nonsense guardian.

    Amid the nonstop thrill-ride, the tweens come to respect and trust each other and learn that nothing matters more than friends, family, teamwork, and keeping the The Big Apple Posse together. The Big Apple Posse is a page-turning action/adventure story for kids of all ages.

    The Big Apple Posse, written by Wendy R. Williams and illustrated by Sophie Escabasse, is the first in a series of three books which follow the Posse in their journey from hapless victims to witnesses in the terror trial of the century. The second in the series, Escape From New Orleans, is in the copy editing and illustration stage and will be published in January 2012.

    The Big Apple Posse is the first book to be published by New York Cool Productions, a subsidiary of NewYorkCool,com, a web based magazine that covers the culture of New York City.

    The Big Apple Posse is available as an Ebook at Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.

    Please let us know if you would like a gifted copy. It is not necessary to own a Kindle or a Nook to read an Ebook.

    If you don’t own a Kindle, you can download Kindle for PC, Iphone, Ipad, Blackberry, Android etc. etc. for free.

    If you don’t own a Nook, you can download Nook for PC, Iphone,Pad, Blackberry, Android etc etc for free.
    PDF’s of The Big Apple Posse are available for review.

    Read the first chapter for free.
    http://www.newyorkcool.com/The_Big_Apple_Posse.htm

    The Big Apple Posse has 1700 Facebook Fans.
    http://www.facebook.com/The.Big.Apple.Posse

    Best Wishes!

    New York Cool Productions

    • 14 manderse11 September 1, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      If you send me a copy I would be happy to review it.

      Dowling Catholic High School
      Attn: Megan Andersen
      1400 Buffalo Road
      West Des Moines, IA 50265

  8. 15 Katie December 11, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    I am moving to the area in January, and I was wondering if you are part of any book clubs? I am a 28-year-old special ed teacher/young adult junkie looking for people who share my addictions! Please let me know if you know of any to join. Thanks!

  9. 17 M. M. Lake April 1, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Please let me know if you are still accepting books for review.

    Thank you in advance.
    M. M. Lake

  10. 20 Kya October 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Hi 🙂 I really love this site and the way the reviews are written. I am an avid reader as well as a teenage novelist. You can find out more about me at my website: KyaAliana.Weebly.Com
    If you like what you see, I would happily give you a free e-copy of my latest novel, Sly Darkness. I would really love a review!
    Thank you for your consideration,
    Kya Aliana

  11. 21 Geoff Camphire October 27, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Thank you for providing this amazing site as a resource for YA fiction! I see a number of requests here for permission to send a review copy of an upcoming book, and I’d like to add my name to the list. Would it be okay if I send a copy of my new “CHARLIE DEAD and the So-Called Zombie Apocalypse” to your Dowling Catholic address? Would a paperback or ebook be preferable?

    With a tone close to that of “The Hunger Games,” this is the first of three CHARLIE DEAD novels appearing on Amazon.com by the end of the year. Charlie Dunlap is a high school student in post-plague America, where zombies are being persecuted by some and welcomed back into mainstream society with varying degrees of success by others. When Charlie gets bitten, choosing sides is no longer an option. And in a world sometimes at war with zombies, he finds, it’s not always easy to tell who the real monsters are… Thanks for your consideration!

    • 22 manderse11 November 3, 2014 at 8:09 pm

      I would be happy to take a look in any kind of format. I do have quite a few right now so it might take a little while to get to. Thanks,

  12. 23 Josefina Gutierrez October 29, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Hello there,

    I was looking for an area to submit my new Young Adult ebook, The Shadow of Loss. I noticed you prefer mailed requests. Is that still open? I would love to mail or email a copy.

  13. 25 Rashella D'Amico May 2, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    My daughter and I often seek your site for book ideas! Thanks for what you do. I recently discovered a new YA book written by a high schooler that was surprisingly good. You should check it out. Its called The Devil In Amen’s Corner
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1530626587/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1462231264&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=the+devil+in+amens+corner

  14. 26 Denae Christine July 23, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    I want to make sure your address and submission requirements are still the same. It seems you prefer mailed copies. Mine is YA epic fantasy, Royal Deception. I’ll send you a paper copy if you still accept them.
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VW5M1JU

  15. 28 Christopher Purrett August 17, 2016 at 5:44 pm

    Good Afternoon,
    Are you still accepting submissions for young adult fantasy novel reviews? In July 2016, Mystical Mirror was released in the Land of Mistasia series.

    It is the fourth installment int he series. If you are interested in doing a review for this novel please contact me through my website.

    Sincerely,
    Christopher M. Purrett

  16. 30 Carlye Knight December 2, 2016 at 7:44 pm

    Are you still accepting books for review? I published Confessions of a Failed Preacher’s Daughter this fall and I think it would be a good fit for your blog.

  17. 32 Kim T February 24, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    Hi there, I’m a grad student working on my MLIS at University of Illinois, and have to write about a YA book-reviewing source, and I found your site. I was reading about the RAC, and just had a question about that. The books that are marked as RAC – does that just mean that the student chose this book to read and conference with their teacher, and then you reviewed it for your site? Thank you so much! /kim t.

    • 33 manderse11 March 29, 2017 at 6:32 pm

      If it’s marked RAC it means it has been approved for students to receive RAC credit. It’s important they choose books that are pre-approved for RAC.

  18. 34 Kim T February 24, 2017 at 9:50 pm

    Couple more questions? 1) What is meant by “Special review?” What is “Site Meter” (under Categories)? Lastly, side from RACs, how do you choose what you’ll review? Thank you so much!! /kim t.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





%d bloggers like this: