Jet Set by Carrie Karasyov and Jill Kargman

jet

Genre:  Realistic Fiction

Age Level:  14 and up

# of pages:  240

RAC Book:  Yes

Lucy Peterson is an army corporal’s daughter and a great tennis player.  When she decides that she is tired of moving around and wants to have a more stable high school experience, she decides to apply for a scholarship to the exclusive Van Pelt Academy boarding school in Switzerland.  She quickly discovers that these are by far the wealthiest and most powerful teenagers in the world, some of them are even royalty.  The three most popular girls are called the Diamonds and immediately dislike Lucy, so she befriends a girl named Sofia.   Sofia is nice enough, but seems too worried about gossip and pulling mean pranks on the Diamonds and Lucy starts to wonder what her true motives are.  At the same time she works hard at her tennis and gets to know two powerful boys.  One is a powerful prince that seems nice, but distant.  The other wants her attention, but Lucy can’t get over the fact that so many people have warned her about him.  Which boy should she try to get to know better?  Can she trust Sofia or is she going to be an enemy?  Can she ever learn to get along with the Diamonds?

Readers who enjoyed Bittersweet Sixteen and Summer Intern will not be disappointed with this new book by the same authors.  Teen drama, gossip, and of course fashion labels are all mixed together to create an enjoyable light read.  The characters are all unpredictable and interesting to watch as they grow and develop.  The ending is a bit predictable, but that’s what readers who like this type of book will want.

Advertisements

4 Responses to “Jet Set by Carrie Karasyov and Jill Kargman”


  1. 1 sally apokedak October 7, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    thanks for the great review.

    I just have one question. Why is the genre considered realistic fiction? How realistic is this book? Most of the readers will never go to a boarding school in Switzerland or meet a prince. I would say this book sounds more like fairytale or fantasy than realistic.

    Just curious about that. Who names the genre? The publisher?

    Anyway, thanks. It sounds like a fun book.

    • 2 manderse11 October 7, 2009 at 4:48 pm

      Realistic fiction means that it could happen in real life and there are no fantasy elements like magic, fairies, vampires, etc. in the story. If there is a sports or mystery element to the story you can characterize it that way. Realistic fiction does not necessarily mean that it is possible for everyone, but if it is possible at all that a normal human being could tell this story then it is considered to be in this genre. Great question and maybe others disagree with me, but this is how I have always understood the genre of realistic fiction.

  2. 3 sally apokedak October 10, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Ah. I see. Thanks.

    I’m wondering now what differentiates Realistic Fiction from Contemporary. Or do are they same thing?

    Anyway, thanks. And thanks for the great reviews!

  3. 4 Amy February 25, 2010 at 5:49 am

    I’ve had it for 2 days and I’m at chapter 12! It’s a must read that lots of teens can relate to: enemies, friends, frenemies, boys, crushes, bullies, and more!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





%d bloggers like this: