Posts Tagged 'boarding school'

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

Genre:  Realistic Fiction

# of Pages:  335

RAC:  No

Alex Patrick is date-raped after a night of drinking and partying.  She wakes up with no recollection of the night before, but quickly realizes how serious her situation is.  Her friends coax the news out of her and convince her that if she was not conscious she could not have consented, but Alex is reluctant to go to police or the boarding school administration because they have failed students on serious issues in the past.  She decides to seek the help of the student run justice system called “The Mockingbirds.”  They agree to try the case and things get complicated when the accused vehemently denies any wrongdoing and proceeds to spread vicious rumors about her.  Alex begins to wonder if she somehow led him on or was at fault in some way.  Does she have the strength to stand up for herself?

This book discusses a very serious issue in an open and honest way.  Alex’s flashbacks to that night help slowly piece together what happened and shed light on her mixed feelings regarding pressing charges.  Her friends and supporters help her overcome obstacles, such as eating in the cafeteria again, and slowly she begins to find the strength she needs.  The book is very frank about the nature of the crime and might be upsetting to some students, but it contains an important message and the student justice system is entertaining.

Advertisements

Dirty Laundry by Daniel Ehrenhaft

dirty

Genre: Mystery/Realistic Fiction

Age Level: 14 and up

# of Pages: 229

RAC Book: yes

Carli is an actress who has just landed a role as a tough boarding school girl, which is a problem because she considers herself a “nerd.” Her agent sends her to The Winchester School, which is the boarding school where all the students who were rejected from other boarding schools go. They are called the “dirty laundry.”  Her agent’s son, FUN, is supposed to be Carli’s assistant and help her keep her undercover identity of Sheila Smith. On the first day of school a girl named Darcy goes missing and no one seems that worried about it. Carli and FUN decide to do some investigating on their own and start to worry about some of the people around them. Could some of their friends be possible kidnappers or even murderers? Or is someone setting others up to take the fall for their crimes?

This is a very lighthearted mystery in which there is a sinister plot going on, but it is very subtle and not always the focus of the story. The perspective changes from Carli to FUN throughout the story.  Both of them focus a lot on themselves and their own situations and observations of what is going on around them. Some students will feel it drags in the middle, but if they make it, will enjoy the ending. A fast and enjoyable, but fortgettable read.

Jet Set by Carrie Karasyov and Jill Kargman

jet

Genre:  Realistic Fiction

Age Level:  14 and up

# of pages:  240

RAC Book:  Yes

Lucy Peterson is an army corporal’s daughter and a great tennis player.  When she decides that she is tired of moving around and wants to have a more stable high school experience, she decides to apply for a scholarship to the exclusive Van Pelt Academy boarding school in Switzerland.  She quickly discovers that these are by far the wealthiest and most powerful teenagers in the world, some of them are even royalty.  The three most popular girls are called the Diamonds and immediately dislike Lucy, so she befriends a girl named Sofia.   Sofia is nice enough, but seems too worried about gossip and pulling mean pranks on the Diamonds and Lucy starts to wonder what her true motives are.  At the same time she works hard at her tennis and gets to know two powerful boys.  One is a powerful prince that seems nice, but distant.  The other wants her attention, but Lucy can’t get over the fact that so many people have warned her about him.  Which boy should she try to get to know better?  Can she trust Sofia or is she going to be an enemy?  Can she ever learn to get along with the Diamonds?

Readers who enjoyed Bittersweet Sixteen and Summer Intern will not be disappointed with this new book by the same authors.  Teen drama, gossip, and of course fashion labels are all mixed together to create an enjoyable light read.  The characters are all unpredictable and interesting to watch as they grow and develop.  The ending is a bit predictable, but that’s what readers who like this type of book will want.


Archives

Advertisements